Starting to get serious

Well the first week of summer vacation is nearly over and I have to admit that I didn’t spend too much time working on this whole project, I preferred enjoying my long awaited free time after another year of school. But I didn’t forget about the project at all I still searched the internet for some interesting gear to put into the box and I got the first book from the university library here in Basel about meteorology. My dad even showed me a temperature, humidity and whatsoever recording device that people in his job are buying en mass right now, but it would cost me about 70 euros so I’m not quit sure about buying one of those.

What I’m quiet sure about is the GPS transponder I want to use, it’s called the TK102 and has lots of interesting features. Take a look at it here: click!
You can put a SIM card inside of it and each time you call that number you get a reply text with the exact coordinates of the transponder, and in this case also the balloon. You can even set it to an interval mode where it sends you its location in chosen intervals.

Well that’s it for this little update. Next post coming soon!

This entry was posted in Research and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

